TTK – “The Urban Equestrian” Polo Art Show – 8.6.10

Painting by TTK

Last night, in a loft near the South Street Seaport, something epic happened… TTK, sneaker customizer and artist, fused his love of art and fashion and presented a solo exhibit inspired by Ralph Lauren’s Polo line and pop culture entitled “The Urban Equestrian”.  After seeing the teaser painting he displayed at the G-Shock event earlier this week, I had to check out the art exhibit to see what else TTK had up his (dapper) sleeve.

I arrived at the loft to find DJ Kraff spinning some of my favorite jams from the 90’s, and the legendary photographer Jamel Shabazz on the roof, prepping for a mini-shoot… My night was officially made!

TTK’s artwork was genius – pop culture icons such as Eddie Murphy (in a scene from “Coming to America“), Lauryn Hill, Michael Jackson, Bill Cosby, Bruce Lee and even Raekwon were decked out in Polo gear. Yummy mini-cheesecakes floated around the room, and I joined my homegirl Isis in a karaoke session, thanks to DJ Kraff. I was content… but that was only the beginning of this epic evening…

One by one, two by two, then elevator batches…the “Lo-Lifes” had arrived. Since this was a Polo-inspired event, everyone was encouraged to come through wearing their best threads, and the Lo-Lifes did not disappoint. Me being a fan of Adidas, I had never seen so much Polo in one room, and I was in awe of how seriously these guys (and even the ladies) took the culture to heart. I had heard only negative things in the past about these people, about how they were known for “boosting” high-end stores for as much Polo clothing as their arms could carry. But all I saw in this loft last night was peace, appreciation for art, fashion and each other. Ties, scarves, shirts, hats and everything in between… The high point of the evening was when we assembled the Lo-Lifes on the rooftop for a group photo. Truly epic.

The icing on the cake was Steele & Tec of Smif N Wessun came through to support TTK’s event…

It was a fantastic night and I couldn’t have asked for anything more…MAJOR KUDOS to TTK and Andre Clarke for putting together a memorable event. Check out more photos below.

L’s up!

Comments
5 Responses to “TTK – “The Urban Equestrian” Polo Art Show – 8.6.10”
  1. I had never seen so much Polo in one room, and I was in awe of how seriously

  2. Wow, wish I had the chance to attend this event. I really like the first painting posted above, brilliant work!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] away under the stars – Shouts to everyone who came thorough rocking their flyest Polo gear! Check out my photos from that […]



Leave a comment